Site Home

18xx Games
18xx Rules Difference List

Click for 18xx Home
You are in: Home > 18xx > 18xx Rules Difference List > Section 7

Red line

| Introduction | Contents | Games | Glossary | Previous page Next page |

7.4 - Can one train run to two stations on the same tile?

It may be worth pointing out that off-board areas are generally considered to be single destinations, even when there are multiple entry points to an area, and when off-board areas consist of more than one hex. 18PA would appear to be the only game that allows you to run to two entry points of the same off-board area with a single train.

1761, 1812, 1817, 1822, 1822CA, 1826, 1827 Jr., 1829 Mainline, 1837SX, 1842, 1846, 1861 v2, 1867, 1873, 1881, 18Ardennes, 18Dixie, 18EU, 18FL, 18MS, 18Neb, 18NY, 18OE, 18Scan, 18SS, 18TN, 18USA, 18West, Poseidon No.
1800, 1830, 1832, 1834, 1841, 1844, 1847, 1847AE, 1848, 1850, 1851, 1856, 1857, 1859, 1862, 1868, 1870, 1879, 1880, 1889, 1891, 1895, 1898, 18??, 18Africa, 18BL, 18C2C, 18CZ, 18EC, 18GM, 18Ireland, 18Kaas, 18Mex, 18NL, 18NW, 18PA, 18Rhl Rhineland, 18Ruhr, 18SY, Steam Over Holland Yes.
1824, 1853, 1853 v2 You may not run to two large stations on the same tile. Small stations are not restricted.
1825, 1829 No, but if using Tank engines (3T, 4T) available in extension kits, these can call at two villages on the same hex or tile.
1830 Cardgame, 1830BC, 1849, 1862EA, 1865 Sardinia, 1869 USA West, 1893, 18CLE, 18EZ All Levels, 18GL, 18MW, 18NK, 18NY, 18SA, 18VA, Crisis, Railroad Barons, Rolling Stock Not applicable.
1831 No, but there are exceptions for the Delaware large city and commuter runs.
1835 Yes, except Berlin.
1837 Yes, but not two stations in Vienna. In the case of Buda and Pest, the entire run may be on one hex.
1838 Rheinland Yes, but not Duisburg, Düsseldorf or Köln when running a bonus route connecting opposite corners of the map.
1854 Yes. But not Wien, Zürich, or Sankt Pölten. Those three locations are specifically listed in the rules as not allowing one train to visit twice. As Zurich is an off-board location, it makes sense for Bozen and Budapest to be treated in the same way, in line with the way that most 18xx games treat off-board areas.
1858 Not usually, but they can run to two small stations on the same tile.
1860 Yes, but you may not revisit the same hex twice.
1861 v1 Not covered by the rules, but a clarification from JKLM Games states that you cannot visit the same station hex, station tile or off-board area twice with the same train. Off-board areas means, for example, that all the red hexes that form the off-board area of Poland are counted as one area.
1869 The Golden Spike No, except for San Franscisco before it is upgraded to grey.
1898 Only YY-tiles (which start as two villages).
18GA, 18GA v2 Yes; even three.
18GB Yes, but it does not receive income from the second station.
18US Yes, but only when the two cities are separate from each other.
2038 Two mines, yes.

| Introduction | Contents | Games | Glossary | Previous page Next page |

Red line

Mail me © Keith Thomasson January 16th 2019