Site Home

18xx Games
18xx Rules Difference List

Click for 18xx Home
You are in: Home > 18xx > 18xx Rules Difference List > Section 9

Red line

| Introduction | Contents | Games | Glossary | Previous page Next page |

9.2 - Must a major share company buy a train if it does not have one?

1800, 1825, 1829, 1829 Mainline, 18EZ Level 1 No.
1812 Yes, if it is able to do so. If it cannot buy a train, even by taking out loans, its price on the stock market is moved one space down.
1824, 1826, 1830BC, 1835, 1837, 1838 Rheinland, 1846, 1880, 1895, 18Ardennes, 18EU, 18EZ Levels 2 and 3, 18FL, 18GL, 18MW, 18PA, 18Scan, 18TN, 18VA, 2038, Poseidon Yes.
1827 Jr., 1830, 1832, 1841, 1849, 1850, 1851, 1854, 1856, 1862, 1870, 1889, 1893, 1898, 18C2C, 18EC, 18EZ Levels 2 and 3, 18GA, 18Mex, 18Neb, 18NL, 18NY, 18Rhl Rhineland, 18Ruhr, Steam Over Holland If it has a route.
1831 Yes. And systems must have two or three trains, depending on number of companies that merged.
1837SX, 18Dixie, 18MS If it has a route, and there is at least one train in the initial offering or bank pool.
1842 Yes. And if a private company has no train and does not buy one, it will have to be auctioned off at the start of the next OR.
1844 Major companies and regional companies must if they have a route, pre-SBB companies need not.
1848 Yes, if it has a route, even if the company owns a 2E train.
1853, 1853 v2 No; but its Director may choose to make up the balance from his own money if the company has insufficient credit for a train, leaving the company with an empty treasury.
1858 No, but the stock price moves to the left if it does not own a train at the end of an operating round.
1860 Yes, if it is able to do so. If it cannot buy a train and has a route it is declared insolvent and must lease a train from the bank, retaining dividends, until it is able to buy a train.
1861 Yes, if it is able to do so. If it cannot buy a train it is nationalised and becomes part of the Russian State Railway.
1862EA Yes, if it is able to do so. If it is unable to buy a train the company goes bankrupt.
1865 Sardinia If it has one or more traffic chips.
1873 Yes. It must buy a standard train when it operates for the first time. The rules ensure that it will never be without a standard train at any later point of the game.
1876v2 Yes, by a 'forced assisted train purchase'.
18US A 4-share Eastern company, 10-share company or System must own a train if it has operated in the current round. 5-share Land Grant companies and the DRG are not required to own a train.
18West Yes, if it is a public company. Granger Road and Land Grant companies do not need to own a train.
Crisis If it could run a train (type I companies can run trains as 1 trains).
Rolling Stock Not applicable.

| Introduction | Contents | Games | Glossary | Previous page Next page |

Red line

Mail me Keith Thomasson June 21st 2016